Anyone can launch on Product Hunt, but now we’re making it easier than ever for Makers to take control of their Product Hub. Claiming a Product Hub means you are verified as the owner of the page and able to manage permissions as well as the most important content on your Hub.
Why is it important I claim my Product Hub?
Product Hubs are valuable to Makers because they are the central place for the community to learn all about your product’s journey: launches, reviews, awards, and news. Claiming your Hub will give you the rights to edit your page’s content and have access to exclusive features that will help you create, grow and engage with your community of followers over time.
Great, how can I claim my Product Hub?
Claiming your Product Hub is easy. You just need to submit your email and go through a verification process to confirm your ownership
To claim a Product Hub:
Open the Hub page of the product you want to claim
Click one of the “Claim this page” buttons
Submit a company email address that matches your product domain. If you don't have one, that's ok. You can fill out the additional information field to help our team verify your request. In both cases, you'll receive a verification email right after this step.
Open the email received and click on “verify email”.
If your email matches your product domain, you'll land on your Hub settings as its owner.
What if my email doesn’t match my product domain?
If your email address doesn't match your product domain, your request will be sent to moderation for approval, and we'll get back to you once the verification is complete. In this case, we highly encourage you to keep your profile up to date.
After the request is reviewed by moderation, you will receive an email saying if the claim was rejected or approved.
If approved, you will be added as the owner of the Hub.
How much time does it take for my claim to be reviewed?
Although most of the requests take less than 24h to be reviewed, in some cases, additional information is needed for our moderators to verify ownership of a Hub.
To help speed up this process, here are a few things you can do:
Keep your profile up to date.
Before submitting the claim, make sure to fill out any additional information providing details to help prove your ownership (social media links, etc.).
Requesting access to a Hub: Can I claim a Hub if it already has an owner?
If you’re part of a larger team and your Hub already has an owner, you have two options to gain access to manage the Hub:
Option 1: Ask the Hub owner to invite you to join the team through the Hub settings
Option 2: Request access to the Hub. To do so:
Open the Hub page and select one of the “request access” buttons
After requesting access, the Hub owner(s) will be able to approve/reject your request from the Hub settings page.
An email will be sent to you saying if the request was rejected or approved.
If approved, you can access Hub settings from your Hub page (‘Manage’ button next to the Hub title).
How to access my Hub settings after I'm confirmed as an owner or a member?
You can access Hub settings page from your Hub page (‘Manage’ button next to the Hub title)
Managing users and permissions
In your Hub settings (team members page), you will see two options next to each user name for “role” and “status”. The status field can be set as “active” or “inactive”. Marking someone as “inactive” will revoke all of their permissions, and they won’t be able to access the Hub settings page anymore.
Here is a breakdown of the types of permission available to each user role:
Invite/accept new members
Edit Hub content*
Manage status and role of other team members
*The editing functionality doesn't cover all Hub fields yet. If you want to edit something that is not present on your settings page, you can submit a request to our team by clicking "request changes to this page" (located at the bottom right of the sidebar on your Hub page).
Transferring ownership of your Hub
If you have initially claimed your Hub, but find that you want to select another user to be the owner, follow the steps below:
If the user you want to transfer ownership to is not part of your Hub team yet, invite them to join.
After the user accepts the request, they will show up on your Hub settings (team members page).
Set their role to “Owner”.
As Owners, they can now change your role to a “Member” or mark you as an “Inactive” user (Inactive users can’t access to Hub settings).